The Refuge Utah Logo

Domestic Violence

About Us

Since 1984, The Refuge Utah (formerly known as The Center for Women and Children in Crisis) has provided a safe, caring, and therapeutic environment to assist in the recovery of survivors of domestic violence, rape, sexual assault, and stalking. Our goal is to facilitate healing and to advocate for victims with the intent to decrease the incidence of such violence in the community.

In 2022 alone, we secured over 12,000 emergency and transitional housing nights, answered 2,950 hotline calls, and provided 3,308 advocacy hours.These numbers are a testament to both the dedication and compassion of our partners, donors, volunteers, and staff. We are always mindful that we only accomplish these great feats with the support of our Board of Trustees, community, and all of you. Without the incredible generosity of our friends, foundations, and volunteers, none of our outcomes would be possible.

Board of Trustees

Cheryl Hanewicz


Tim Lott

Chair Elect, Fundraising Committee Chair

Randy Lish


Kylie Mortenson


Paul Thompson

Marsha Judkins

Lyndsey Jackson

Lily Ramires

Staff Leadership


Ashlee Taylor

Executive Director


 Mike Francis 



Laurie Loader

Shelter Director



 Cristina Pianezzola, JD

Director of Development


Holly Johnson

Housing Project Coordinator


Lori Jenkins

Sexual Assault Services Director


 Megan Mcomber

Transitional Housing and Aftercare Coordinator


Elein Sutherland, LCSW

Clinical Director